Blenheim Physiotherapy Bike HQ Triathlon Summer series Race 2 results

15 11 2009

MartinThe second race of the Blenheim Physiotherapy Bike HQ Triathlon Summer series was run on Sunday in conditions which were expected to hamper many competitors. Whilst thereappeared to be little chance of the forecast showers the strong winds which had battered the region over the weekend showed no sign of abating as the races commenced but it seemed to make little difference to many in the large field with some showing significant improvements on their race times in October.

In the Men’s long triathlon Mark Grammer again made no race of it and cruised to a win in a time of 1.06.39. Roger Golding showed the benefit of his intensive training for the Wanaka Challenge, an Ironman distance event, and came second in a time of 1.10.34 – a 5 minute improvement on his October race, the biggest of the day. In doing so he overcame his rival, Phil Binnie, who this time had to be content with third.

In the Women’s long triathlon Michelle Catterick showed that class on the bike is always hard to overcome. Catterick is in training for the Taupo Ironman with a lead-up half Ironman in Tauranga in early January and the training showed. She recorded the fastest cycle time of all competitors and was able to hold off a fast finishing Almuth Waechter on the run leg to take first place in a time of 1.11.54 beating Waechter by 3 minutes. Rachel Monk took third in a time of 1.18.34.

In other races Mikayla O’Connor won the small triathlon in a time of 13.42, and Dagmar Van Antwerpen and Christopher Grammer had an exciting contest in the medium triathlon with Van Antwerpen taking first in a time of 28.35 just 4 seconds ahead of Grammer.

The medium duathlon was won by Jack Topliss in a time of 27.10 while in the long duathlon the youngster Leatham Landon-Lane managed to hold off the veteran Sharon Kent winning by 25 seconds in a time of 1.22.00.

With the Marlborough Multisports Club Champion this year being decided on the basis of points earned in each race current leaders are Mark Grammer in the men’s section and Almuth Waecther in the women’s. Both have received maximum points after two rounds. The final race in the local series is on 13 December and for Roger Golding it will be a final part of a long build up to his participation in the Wanaka Challenge – an Ironman distance event in January.

Photos here

Mark Grammer 1.06.39
Roger Golding 1.10.34
Phil Binnie 1.12.20
Cory Mackay 1.13.23
Martyn Crossley 1.18.26
Steve Smith 1.22.20
Jim Gardiner 1.26.13

Michelle Catterick 1.11.54
Almuth Waechter 1.14.54
Rachel Monk 1.18.34
Caroline McCarthy 1.22.34
Leonie can den Bergh 1.29.28
Sharon de Castro 1.34.01

Dagmar Can Antwerpen 28.35
Christopher Grammer 28.39

Mikayla O’Connor 13.42
Tori O’Connor 13.46
Niels Van Antwerpen 19.11

Leatham Landon-Lane 1.22.00
Sharon Kent 1.22.25
Cara Shirley 1.31.39
Shannyn Mitchell 1.36.52
Piers Landon-Lane 1.38.52

Jack Topliss 27.10
Laura de Castro 28.16
Sarin Yin 28.57

Cameron Clarke 1.28.29
Luke Topliss 1.09.50
Jared Silcock 57.09




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: