Josh 4th at Peak to Peak

28 07 2010
Last weekend, Josh Scott took on the North Face Peak to Peak  multisport race in Queenstown, coming home in a very respectable 4th place. Here is is race report: 

One of New Zealand’s Iconic Multisport events and now into its 17th year this race is an achievable but hard fast race.

The 2010 race had a good turn out with over 60 individuals and 90 plus teams.

It starts with a 300 meter dash to your skis then a  2km downhill ski, then an exciting 17km downhill Mtb bike down Remarkables ski field road then a short 3 km mtb along the road to Frankton beach (pretty much at the outlet of  Lake Wakatipu) then a mad 7km kayak from here to centre of Queenstown, where you don your running shoes for a 9km all uphill road run to the base road of coronet peak ski filed, then the last stretch is a 11km bike ride up coronet peak access road (average of 11%, which is steep), to the finish at the main base of the ski field.

 I went in to this race with high hopes to place higher than my 5th placing from 2009.

Conditions were perfect, mild 4 degrees on top of the ski field, 8 degrees at the lake and we finished in a balmy 9 degrees at top of coronet.

The race started well and I made it quickly to my skis and proceeded downhill, I managed not to crash but there was carnage all around me with expert skiers bombing down and then the not so expert tumbling down, no serious accidents to report, but the chance I did get to glance back up hill, it was a mass off bodies skis, poles and clothing everywhere.

A quick transition to my MTB bike had me near the head of the field, this is an awesome ride, there is a huge mixture of fear, adrenaline, and the need to go as fast as you can, definitely a highlight of the race.Once we hit the main road I was able to pick up a few places and make good time to get into my kayak.

Once in my kayak I quickly realised I was among the leaders, but flat water kayaking is not a strong point for me and I worked hard not to drop too much time and save myself for run and bike uphill. (the lake was bloody freezing, and extra motivation for not going for a swim)

After meeting my support crew at Queenstown and jumping into my shoes, I knew then that I was not at my best, my run was slower and I really struggled to get my Tempo up and my bike uphill was uninspired and well off my time from 2009 and I slumped to a fourth place finish,  one better than last year, but not the podium finish that I wanted. Adam Milne the overall winner was a class above the rest of the racers and he managed to regain the lead even after a horrible ski. There were some also exciting team races (which are very serious) and I think we could put a pretty sharp team together from Marlborough to have a good crack at the title (any interest?)

Although disappointed I still get a buzz out of this race and I will be back next year with a new game plan and will be more motivated than ever to finish one better.

I fully recommend this race to all multisporters –  it’s a must do. (Even my dad, Allan, is going to enter next year, better bring a sleeping bag I reckon!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

