Winter Duathlon Series Round 3

27 06 2011

Jeremy McKenzie won the third round of the Reidie Cycles Winter Duathlon Series run at the Wither Hills Farm/Taylor Pass course on Sunday.

The long race was run on handicap with local multisporters Josh Scott and Jeremy McKenzie both starting off scratch, 32 minutes after the front marker. This was expected to test McKenzie in particular, who has been in a rich vein of form with consecutive wins in the duathlon series and a new race record in the previous week’s Mt Vernon Grand Traverse. Line honours, however, went to young Jess Barnes who was one of the competitors given the 32 minute start.. Ian Shapcott off 20 minutes was another to take full advantage of his handicapping, and whilst he worked his way through the field he could not quite catch Barnes, but did enough to finish second over the line. Phil Binnie off 19 minutes held on in the tightest finish of the day to keep a fast finishing Willem Lampe at bay and crossed the line in third.

McKenzie took fastest time in a new course record of 1.04.15, an 18 second improvement on his last race and the second time in a week he has created a new record. Starting with his mate Josh Scott and 32 minutes behind everyone else the pair took off at a furious pace.  By the 500m mark McKenzie had a lead of nearly 50m on Scott. In last months race McKenzie had beaten Scott by 8 minutes but there was to be no repeat this time. While Mckenzie kept the lead throughout, Scott stayed with him and by the end, while McKenzie was clearly the quicker man, Scott had shaved an incredible 5 minutes off his own previous time.

In the Women’s section Suzie Aviss seemed to relish the male competition and was a comfortable winner in 1.17.55,  also a course record for the women. Sharon de Castro won the medium race in a time of 1.17.40 while Connor Guillemot and Dylan Guillemot took out the honours in the short and mini duathlons. The next race of the series is the Club Champs on July 19 at Rarangi.



LONG DUATHLON 5KM run/20KM bike/5KM run


Jeremy McKenzie 1.04.15  * 18 second improvement on last time

Josh Scott 1.07.43 * 5 min improvement on last time

Willem Lampe 1.16.00 * 2min 26 improvement on last time

Ryan Lock 1.16.15 * 36 second improvement on last time

Leatham Landon-Lane 1.20.35 

Ian Shapcott 1.21.04 * 5 min 38 improvement on last time

Phil Binnie 1.22.53

Rene de Ruiter 1.23.51

Piers Landon-Lane 1.41.48



Susie Aviss 1.17.55

Bek Scherp 1.29.34

Jess Barnes 1.30.00

Juliette Wiseman 1.36.00

Leonie van den Bergh 1.39.02

Sharon Kent 1.42.00


Sharon de Castro 1.17.40


Connor Guillemot 38.56

Jacob Crossley 39.00

Fergus Greer 39.51

James Greer 41.41

Anna Barnes 1.09.00

MINI 1K/2K/500m

Dylan Guillemot 20.19

Savarna Radcliffe 21.16




One response

28 06 2011
Steve Smith

The race scheduled for 3 July has been cancelled. Next race is the big one at Rarangi on 31 July. The race report text above might have referred to this as 19 July which is incorrect. If the paper prints the story as I sent it that will also say 19 July but I’m here to tell you correct date for next race is 31 July. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: